One of Instagram's most useful features is called Stories. That's not just my opinion: Over 250 million people use Instagram Stories every day, the company revealed earlier this year. Why? Instead of the usual posting of carefully chosen single photos, Stories lets you post a bunch of photos that play like a slideshow. And at the end of the day, those photos disappear. Sound familiar? That's because it's very, very much like Snapchat's My Story feature. Facebook, which owns Instagram, now also has a similar Stories feature. But here's everything you need to know about Instagram Stories. Now Playing: Watch this: Getting started with Instagram Stories 1:30 Making your Stories is a lot like Snapchat Stories are temporary videos or photos that are strung together to form a slideshow gallery that, well, tells a story. You can save your photo, send it to friends or add it to your Story. Here's how to create a Story: Tap the plus button on the top-left side of your home screen or swipe left in your Feed. You can also quickly launch Stories by swiping right from the main screen. Tap the circle button at the bottom of the screen to take photos or tap and hold to record a video. You can also choose to start a live event or a Boomerang or put the app in hands-free mode. More on those options in a minute. To add photos or videos from your gallery, swipe up on the screen or tap the photo icon in the lower-left side of the screen. The app will automatically add a date sticker to your gallery photos, but you can remove it. I'll show you how below. Edit the photos or videos with text or add a drawing as you normally would. If you hit the pen icon, there are three types of pens. The third one makes your sketch look like a neon sign. Tap Done to save your Story. Tap the Add Your Story button to share to your Story. You can also tap on the Save icon to save your image or video on your phone. If you click the Arrow icon, you can shoot your image to one of your friends as well as your Story. Just tick the bubble by Your Story and the person you want to share with. The image will disappear as soon as your friend sees it. Choose who you want to send your image to. Want to add